Le Nomade – Bastion St. Jaume
In 2007, the great Le Nomade was unveiled as part of a temporary exhibition at Bastion St. Jaume – organized by the Picasso Museum and dedicated to the Catalan artist Jaume Plensa.
In 2010, the monumental sculpture returns as a permanent part of Antibes’ diverse culture. It is now a standing invitation to a journey through the sculpture with its space made of emptiness and silence – beyond the material (painted stainless steel) that make it up, opens and unfolds around it.
It is now the giant figurehead of the bastion and today stands as a modern landmark for a city with an ancient history.
Broad support made the difference
The statue was acquired by the city of Antibes with the participation of the State, the Regional Acquisition Fund for Museums (Ministry of Culture and Communications), the Friends of the Picasso Museum Association, the Port Vauban Mixed Economy Company and the International Yacht Club of Antibes.
History of Bastion Saint Jaume
After housing a temple and then a chapel in Roman times, a fortified tower was built on Saint Jaume, which was later completely destroyed in the 17th century.
A few decades later, the Bastion shipyard was built here, and in 1950, captain Jacques Cousteau’s famous ship Calypso was rebuilt to suit Cousteau’s wishes. The yard closed in 1985.
The site where the yard was located was cleared, and it is now a large area that highlights the famous fortified bastion, which in 2005 was beautifully renovated so that it has regained its original look.
To celebrate the new renaissance look and restoration, a major event was arranged in the summer of 2007, where the artist Jaume Plensa, among others, was invited to exhibit his monumental Nomade, which is now a regular part of the experience at the Bastion.
By Tommy Sverre / 2020